Can't Burn On Dru 720a

Hi

I’m a newbie to this forum & dvd burners. I have just installed a Sony dru 720a on my computer. I’m using Nero OEM. I have been able to burn cds w/it. My problem comes w/burning dvds.

I’m able to read a dvd & play it. The problem is that I can’t burn. The hardware & software will read the source disc ok, but when I insert the target disc (+R RW) it kicks the disc out w/a message to set my software for this medium. I’ve checked the settings & this is authorized. Any suggestions? HELP!!!

Do you have any other software running such as AnyDVD? If not you will not be able to backup a commercial DVD movie. I would suggest if you want to back up DVD movies to use AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 - both available from www.slysoft.com This is probably one of the best supported bits of software out there. Plus the author of CloneDVD2 is on these forums and is very helpful.

Perhaps a newer version of Nero will solve your problem. Updates can be downloaded for free from www.nero.com.

If he just burns with nero, he won’t be able to shrink the movie onto a dvd-5 disc.

Clonedvd & anydvd get’s my vote.

Ok Folks

This is what is going on. I got a 3-disc set that someone else had burned for me. This is an instructional type of dvd. There is no protection. I think the problem is with my burner & its settings since I can copy just fine but not burn.

What is the advice ?

No I don’t have any other software running. In fact, the set that I’m trying to copy was originally burned on Nero OEM & there is no protection on the dvds.

What is the size of the discs you want to back up? It could be they are DL discs? If they are only DVD-5, what media are you using? It may be that your burner doesn’t like that particular brand.

abrown

The source discs are TDK dvd-r, 8x, 4.7 gb
The record discs are Memorex dvd+r, 8x, 4.7gb, rw

Have I screwed up? I’m new to this.