Can't burn Memorex DL DVD or Sony DL DVD

vbimport

I’m new to this so please bear with me.

The first Dual Layers DVDs I ever bought were Sony brand. I used them without any problems. After that I bought Memorex; my laptop will not burn them using any software I have. I currently use Cyberlink.

My laptop is an HP Pavilion dv9727us; the DVD burner is the stock burner that came with the laptop when I bought it a couple of years ago. It sia Slimtype D?V?D A DS8A1h ATA with lightscribe capability.

Originally I thought that it was purely a Memorex issue, but after I bought another batch of Sony I am now getting the same error. It says something like Jump Fail Address and then spits out the DVD.

I tried Gigablock dual layer DVDs and they burn fine, but the layer break also screws up everytime.

I’m stuck.

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

The problem is that 99% of media available in the market have a very variable quality from ugly to barely decent.

With dual layer discs the problem is even worst. Currently, there is only a single brand that produce reliable DL discs: Verbatim.

With Verbatim media you should solve :slight_smile:

Moreover, I suggest to check again the Sony discs you burned in past: there is a probability that these discs are not more readable. One of the main side-effects of low quality discs, in fact, is the quick deterioration after burning.

Your burner is made by Lite-on. You might get better results by updating the firmware from HP, if one is available.

You probably just got a bit lucky with the first batch of Sony DL disks. They were probably a different type—different mid code than the latter ones, and the last ones weren’t particularly compatible with your drive.