Can't burn .ISO files for some reason

Hello, I’m wondering if someone could help me out here. I’m not new to burning. I’ve been doing it for roughly 5 years on a daily basis.

The problem I’m having right now is that I recently did a format on my computer and now my software/hardware isn’t allowing me to burn .iso files. I’ve done many formats in the past and I’ve never run into a problem like this.

I’m using RecordNow Max 4.5, with 358px engine update. I’ve also tried versions 4.0, 4.1 and 4.6 with many different px engine updates and I’ve had no luck. My burner is a Pioneer A04, with firmware version 1.40. I’m also using Windows XP, with service pack 1.

What’s happening is, I can burn .gi files fine, I can burn data and audio files just fine. I can make VCDs and SVCDs just fine. I cannot however, burn a .iso file. I’ve tried multiple .iso files, mostly over 2gb, and they’re stopping around 60% - 85% of the way through and giving me an error.

Here’s the error:

ID:0 (D: ) - Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-104 Stopped because of job error -20

I get this error both with real recording and during a test burn.

That’s all it’s saying, nothing else. I’m pretty certain that it’s not the media, because I’m using Ritek G03 discs, which I’ve burned many times with this same burner and software. I’ve tried different blanks and even different brands, with no luck.

If anyone could help me, it would be much appreciated as I’m pulling my hair out trying to figure this out. Thanks in advance for any help.

It’s very possible the .iso may be corrupted.

Have you tried mounting the .iso on a virtual drive and it worked?

It’s happening with all .iso files, not just one.

Just a little more info on my problem. With Nero 6.3.0.3. everything is fine until 62%, then the “Used Read Buffer” drops all the way out, I get an “Error Reading Data” error at the top, then at the bottom it says “Record State: Failed”.