Can't burn faster than 12X on one of my systems. What the?

OK, ok, I’m not a newbie, but first we all have to get “back to school” someday and the general “optical drives” forum doesn’t have much activity.

There it is: on one of my systems I can’t get to burn faster than 12X, i run into buffer underruns as soon as the drive tries to write faster than 12X.

This is with any drive, Benq 1640, Nec 4550, Nec 3540. So not a drive issue.

MSI 848P-Neo V, Celeron 2.26. The first one who says it could be a CPU issue gets a one way ticket to the moon (I can burn @16X on an old 900Mhz system). :bigsmile:

I ruled out:

1. DMA of course. This is fine.
  2. Fragmentation. Source disc not fragmented.
  3. Source disc. Tried another HD. No change.
  4. HD DMA. UDMA 5, so not an issue.
  5. Cable. Changed cable, no change.
  6. Antivirus. Deactivated it, no change.
  7. Background apps. Nothing special.
  8. Burning software. Same problem with Both Nero and Decrypter (using spti).

I’m out of ideas, even if I suspect it can be a power supply issue. Is it possible? Does anyone have other ideas? Thanks!

is your harddrive compressed?

Thanks for the input. No, my drive is not compressed.

Years ago I had a problem with a program that ran in the background. Most of the time it took up no cpu processing but every now and then it would run in the background and take up 80 to 90 percent processing power(I could not get rid of it so I had to wipe & reinstall). I run win2k and can see all the processes at the same time and how much cpu they used. If you can do the same (not all os’s can do this) you can run a test burn after you do ctrl-alt-del and click processes(?) to see if there is a spike during the burn. If that is the case, it may be just enough to not allow the buffer to have data (at 12x) when the drive requests it.

It probably is not your aspi layer since your are using nero (assuming it is new since you have Benq1640) but it may be worth checking out.