Canon ip4200 and TY WaterShield CDs

Hi guys,
I am a newbie to the forum and the ip4200 I’ve bought - new and unused.

I am using Taiyo Yuden Water Shield White Inkjet Hub Printable (glossy) 52X CD-R Media and am having a difficult time with the quality of the finished print.

I have read reviews on this site and I am getting an impression that folks have got excellent quality results from printing to these CD-Rs. Unfortunately, I am getting marks on my CD-R which look like rollers have made contact with the ink i.e. there are 6 straight smudge lines running vertically down the CD-R print surface as it aligns with the CD print tray. If anyone has any advice on how to stop this happenning, I welcome it.

I also had this with a HP Photosmart D7560 but upgraded to the Canon after reading reviews that made me think I wouldn’t have this problem with the ip4200.

I have used the Canon CD-LabelPrint software as well as Surething Deluxe V5. Same results with both.

Thanks in anticipation of any help,
Dave

Make sure the disc door is dropped fully down (this spreads the rollers) and the disc is firmly snapped into the tray. Apart from that, it’s the luck of the draw whether one printer does this or not.

[QUOTE=CDan;2446980]Make sure the disc door is dropped fully down (this spreads the rollers) and the disc is firmly snapped into the tray. Apart from that, it’s the luck of the draw whether one printer does this or not.[/QUOTE]

The door is fully open. I think I can see where it is rubbing but can’t make out what its rubbing against. The rollers are under the CD tray so it doesn’t seem to be that. However above where the tray runs, there are about 11 little objects that almost look like the stylus you get on a vinyl record player (bare in mind I am looking from the front). 6 of these are placed in positions that correspond with the track I am seeing.

I have no idea what they are, what they do, or why 6 are marking the CD whereas the rest are not.