Cannot see DVD-RW files with any software

vbimport

Hi,

I am new to DVD burning and am not sure how to view files on a DVD-RW disk using DVD rip software. Also, I am not able to playback the content of a DVD-RW or DVD-R on my PC, regardless of viewing software.

I have recorded content on a PIONEER DVR-310 on to a CD-RW not CD+RW. I also have content on CD-R not CD+R.

Machine 1
PC: IBM Thinkpad T42
DVD: HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC4242N
DRIVER VERSION: 5.1.2535.0 (7/1/2001)

Machine 2
PC: Toshiba Satellite Pro 4600
DVD: SD-2402
DRIVER VERSION: 5.1.2535.0 (7/1/2001)

I have been unable to find any firmware upgrade for this driver and instructions on how to update firmware.

Is there any software that will allow me to view the data on the CD-RW and CD-R disks? I am trying to backup the content onto HD and eventually burn it onto a CD+R disk. Is this possible?

I cannot find a more suitable thread in these forums and hopefully someone will be able to provide some help.

Thank you.

Exactly what kind of files are on the disk? Can windows explorer see the files?

I have recorded content on a PIONEER DVR-310 on to a CD-RW not CD+RW. I also have content on CD-R not CD+R.

It’s only with DVD media that you’ll see the +R & +RW, for CD it’s only cd-r & cd-rw. Just for info.

• TimC: Sorry, I made an error in stating media. All references to CD-RW and CD+RW should be referring to DVD- and +

• harley2ride: the content on my DVD-RW and DVD-R are movies recorded from television. Have a couple of 1912 and 1915 movies (early Boris Karloff stuff) recorded. I can view these on my DVD player only. I cannot view using any PC DVD SW, let alone see the files in explorer.

I have only been able to view DVD-RW files on explorer with one disk and that was a few weeks back. This is where I have become stumped.

Can you play pressed(commercial) movies on your PC? If not, it is the software that is likely the cause of your problem.