Cannot get a good burn at 8x

I will post the kprobe results shortly, but nothing that I burn at 8x works well at all. The results are pretty bad. If I select 4x instead, I get much better results. What could cause this? My machine is pretty new (a couple of years or so).

Could it be a power supply problem, as in not enough power? I am running with several hard drives. I don’t know what else to do.

You know, we are all here to help each other. :smiley: But to be able to do this you should provide more info about your;

i. Hardware, compu aso.
ii. Your burner, firmware and the burning proggy you are using.
iii. The MID of media you are trying to burn.

:cool:

BTW, this is your third post on same subject, so please be more specific and remember; crossposting is against the forum rules.

I’m sorry, I’m frustrated and no one was answering me in the other thread.

Here is the info. It’s a Dell P4-1.6Ghz. I have a 20GB HDD (primary master), another 20GB (primary slave), and a 120 GB 7200 RPM on a SIIG Add-on PCI IDE card, and this is the drive I am burning from.

I have the 832S burner, latest version of Nero Express. VS0A firmware with the Omnipatched write strats.

The discs, as you will now see, are the Taiyo Yuden YUDEN000T01 discs. The first burn is 4x, the second is 8x (via omnipatcher). The 8x is after upgrading to VS0A, but I can’t imagine 4x would be as bad as that with newer firmware.

I guess those hypotesis you have just suggested, are all wrong!
I know that problem can be possibly solved by changing the write strategie with a tool caled Omnipatcher, with in the drive´s firmware. There may be severall tries untill you get with the correct one! Or you can ask someone who has just got the correct one.
I guess some people can help you better, than i do.
Just be patient and wait!