Cannot change Target to DVD-RW

vbimport

I have been using DVDfab Platinum for several years (or at least it seems like it has been that long). Currently, I am running version 5.0.2.5 under Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit. At some point (even in the 4.x regime), I lost the ability to change the Target from a folder to a DVD-RW when backing up a DVD straight to a blank DVD-. It will only let me choose my DVD-RW as a Target if a blank disc is in the DVD-RW prior to starting the program.

So, I usually launch DVDfab, check to see if I can fit Main Movie on one disc or whether I have to a Dual Layer disc. Then, I put the proper disc in, close the program and then re-open it. At this point, my DVD-RW appears in the Target field.

Has anyone else had this problem? I can certainly work around it, but I used to not have this issue and it is a little bit annoying.

Thanks in advance for your help.

nuclear_risk_guy

please check your settings under dvd to dvd. your default output type should be set to dvd writer.
http://www.dvdfab.com/docs/index.php/Main/SettingsDVDtoDVD

if this does not fix, please do a clean uninstall following stormjumper’s instructions.
http://club.cdfreaks.com/f116/clean-uninstall-dvdfab-platinum-gold-vista-220279/

please be sure to follow all the instructions and uninstall both v4 and v5.

Finally had a chance to try this out. I uninstalled both version 4 and 5 using the link you provided and then re-installed DVDFab Platinum 5.

I still have the same problem: I have to close and reopen the program with a blank disc in my DVD-RW drive to be able to burn straight to disc.

Any more suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
NukeRiskGuy

[quote=nuclear_risk_guy;2088115]Finally had a chance to try this out. I uninstalled both version 4 and 5 using the link you provided and then re-installed DVDFab Platinum 5.

I still have the same problem: I have to close and reopen the program with a blank disc in my DVD-RW drive to be able to burn straight to disc.