Can you print dvd labels with a regular inkjet printer?

Apparently sticky labels are bad, so is there a cheap alternative? Some sort of paper that works like a temporary tattoo for your disks… only permanent? I’m new to this so if someone could help me I’d appreciate it.

I have read its not a good idea to put labels on your cds or dvds. You can use light scribe disks to make labels but it takes some time to print on the dvd. Its best to use a sharpe marker.

never never put labels on dvds is my answer I would use a sharpie marker or buy a epson printer to print on them. I love my printer and I can get the ink replacements from supermediastore for a good price so I do not even try to refill them. The DVDs look great and I do not have to worry about the label causing problems.

I use an Epson R200 (R300, R320, R200, R220, etc.). It can print directly onto printable discs. Looks great and no issues with wobble or playback. Printable discs are usually just a couple of pennies more (if that) than non-printable.

I originally tried paper labels - BAD, BAD!!!

I use an Epson 320 and I have printed at least 100-150 discs. It works well. The quality of the label is outstanding and there is no problem with playback at all.

I realize that some die hards prefer a magic marker or similar product, however this method works and works well. The main drawback to printing labels is that you go through a great deal of ink. With refills available (the printer takes 6 color cartridges) on line you can replace the cartridges for about $12-15 for all 6 generic refills. (six, usually 7 cartridges, seller usually includes 2 black cartridges)

The Epson 320 costs about $120 new but you can also buy a refurb for less than $50. Not sure I would advise getting a refurb’d. Epson also makes a 300 which does an excellent job as well. It just lacks some buttons and a few plugin extras. (same printing mechanism), less money.