Can the NEC 3520A copy audio bit for bit perfect?

vbimport

According to accuraterip.com, the drive is listed and the offset is also listed so I’m assuming it has the ability to copy a bit for bit audio from a audio cd right?

bump

I did some testing and copying in Exact Audio Copy using the AccurateRip module, and it seemed to work ok but I believe it doesn’t handle leadouts properly. A couple of discs I had would copy bit for bit perfect in my Plextor drive, but not in the NEC drive (mainly failing on the last track/lead out).

One big plus for the 3520 was that it doesn’t cache audio, so it rips very fast in EAC, but if you’re looking for bit for bit perfect it’s probably not what you want.

(DISCLAIMER: I didn’t do any extensive/exhaustive testing, and I’m new to NEC drives in general, so there may be some workarounds or I could have been using some extreme example CDs in my testing).

Anyone else able to help me out? Btw, thanks for your help.

Hey Sgt_Strider,

Here is a link to the review of the NEC 3520 from cdr-info.com. This is specifically the DAE part of the review:

<a href=“http://www.cdr-info.com/Sections/Reviews/Specific.aspx?ArticleId=12314&PageId=5”>LINK</a>

It won’t do exact rips, but if you use EAC in Secure Mode and enable the C2 error correction, it will be faster than most other drives in Secure Mode. (because C2 doesn’t work all the time, but it does with this drive).

IMO, nothing is perfect.

Anyone here able to test this in their NEC 3520A for me? Supposively if you follow the steps that I have listed, you’ll be able to find out if the burner is indeed capable of copying bit for bit.

"Find a CD in EAC’s Reference CDs List, put it the drive, then press the “Detect read sample offset correction…” button. The dialog box will tell you your drives offset value & if it can overread lead I/O. "

Tested with Falco - 3 CD
-overread: none
-read offset: +48