Can not perform end of disc-at-once

Hi guys,

Thanks for a great, useful forum - I’m a complete noob when it comes to DVD Writers so this site has been a BIG help !!!

Hoping somebody will be able to help with my problem (and hoping it’s not something too basic as I’ve been struggling for days now…)

I bought a Sony DWU-18A and some cheap DVD+R’s (unbranded) to play with and couldn’t get the drive to read the discs (it would keep flashing and beeping). Bought some more cheap discs of a different brand (bulkpaq) and hit the same problem.
Thought this was probably due to media compatability so after a bit of research and discovering that the drive could be firmware updated to the Lite-on 832s I went ahead and did this.
This didn’t make any difference and then I found this site which told me that the drive doesn’t like cheap discs. Found a recomendation for Verbatim+R’s so went ahead and got some.

The drive finds & recognises the media fine but I have not yet managed a successful burn…
It either starts burning and throws out an error when it’s finished saying can not perform end of disc-at-once or it burns successfully and when Nero tries to verify the burn it advises that it can’t mount the burnt DVD. If this DVD is then accessed outside of Nero, the drive doesn’t recognise the media (light flashes & beeps).

I have tried lots of different ways of burning through Nero 2.3.1.6 and several of the different firmware versions but always end up with one of the above.

As I say, I’m a real noob with anything DVD so if you need any more info, I’ll try and find it for you…

Please help me !

Many thanks,
Baz.

Sorry, Verbatim’s are +RW (Don’t know if that makes any difference to the problem…)

Baz.

Upgrading Nero might .

Sorry - bad typing again.

The version of Nero I’m running is 6.3.1.6…