Can I convert low quality MP3's to burnable quality?

vbimport

Hi,

I’ve got a lot of mp3s that I think were recorded straight from the radio into pretty low quality ranging from 16 kb/s 16khz to 256kb/s 44khz. I’m using a freeware CD burner called ‘EXPstudio’s CD Burner’ or somethin like that, when I try and add a file to be burned it says ‘cannot add blahblahblah.mp3 because its audio quality is less than 44.1k’.

So my question is this, is there any way I can covert those mp3s to a burnable state? I realise I can’t increase the actual audio quality but is there some way I can make it seem as if I have? Or something?

Obviously I’m a huge newbie at this sort of thing so please be gentle :slight_smile:

Thanks.

edit: I did look at the forum titles but I think on reflection this almost certainly belongs in the newbie forum. Sorry.

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

It’ll be at home here in the Audio forum, I think, so I’ve moved it :wink:

Edit: I know raising the bitrate is possible with some softwares (a player I use called QCD [Quintessential Player] will do it), but I don’t think it’s gonna do much for the listening quality as you say.

Hopefully some of our audiophiles here will have more info for you. :slight_smile:

Try Super

You might also try a different burning program like Burnnn (sp?) or Nero. They have better tolerance for input files. If you want to ‘sweeten’ them you can use Audacity to open them and then export them as 44.1 KHz MP3. You can also remove noise (hiss, hum, etc.) in Audacity.

I’m thinking Burrrn as well. It’s available here.

As Olyteddy said, [B]Audacity[/B] pumps such files up nicely, and then you can do anything you like with them. I’ve attached an example…a 2 second 16kbps clip and the same clip after Audacity converted it to 128kbps.

Betcha can’t hear the difference! :stuck_out_tongue:

Deep Trouble MP3 16kbps.zip (5.61 KB)

Deep Trouble MP3 128kbps.zip (27.6 KB)