Can backing up ruin the original

i have heard rumors that when backing up a game it can ruin the original so you cannot play it. when backing up your game using clonecd is it strait forward on complicated im new to this i have never used any of these programs before. one final thing is c&c general protected by safedisk v 2.8 something. can clonecd crack safedisk

When making a backup, all thats happening (with regards to the original) is it being read, either to an image or on the fly directly to the burner.

CloneCD isnt very complicated, it may seem daunting when its being used the first time, but theres always right click help only a click away. :wink:

C&C Generals is protected by SafeDisc 2.8, and at the moment CloneCD cannot make a working backup of this game, however there are other programs redily available which can.

Alcohol 120% is quite user friendly, discdump/fireburner backups seem to work every time, although Im pretty sure that depends on hardware. Then theres DiskJuggler which is also reccommended IF your hardware can do it.

Hope this helps you out. :slight_smile:

I use Nero Burning ROM and it work great, it runs about 50 bucks US but it is definatly worth it.

Nero can successfully backup SafeDisc v2.8? I know its got a CD copy function, but I wasnt aware that it was good for copy protected CD’s.

actually CloneCD version 3.3.4.1 and my Lite-On 40125S made a perfect backup of C&C Generals.
installs and plays fine all from the backups.

Heck yeah if you know how to use it right it can do anything
:bigsmile: :bigsmile: :bigsmile: :bigsmile:

where cant you get CloneCD 4.2.0.2 for free and if you can how much is it

A TRIAL is available for free from here, which after 30 days must be registered.

The result of making a backup of a Safedisk 2.8 CD with Clone CD is also dependent on the type of burner you use.
On this forum you can find several threads about it (Use the search option !) but I suggest you start here.