C1/C2 Errors

I’ve been reading the forums and have seen alot of talk about KProbe, and C1/C2 errors, and I noticed the new Nero now tests for C2 errors (the C1 test doesn’t seem to be enabled).

I’ve always used Nero’s CD Speed to check my discs after a backup, and normally use Fuji 48x media, (TY).

My drives are a LiteOn LTR-40125S with VZSOR firmware, and a DVD reader also from LiteOn LTD-163D with VGHR6 firmware, although with the DVD drive it doesn’t seem to be supported anymore on LiteOn’s website.

I’ve never had any problem burning, I use Nero, and it has always passed any Nero CD Speed tests, although I’m new to this C1/C2 business. My discs have always been readable.

I install KProbe recently, and while testing with the 40125S using older discs, and recent burns, I always get continuous C1 errors and sometimes a few C2 errors on ALL cd’s I test using this drive. I’m talking 100’s of thousands of C1 errors! This confused me quite a bit, so I decided to test using my DVD reader, and I hardly get any C1 errors using that, let alone C2’s. Maybe 10 C1’s at most, from what I can gather, a normal result of a good burn.

So why does my 40125S show so many errors in this test? After all, it IS the burner I use, you would think it would have no problems. It reads the CD’s fine, and according the the test results on my DVD player, writes fine as well.

Any thoughts?

Thanks…!

lol im still lost to kprobe i think its a odd test

read the stickies in the media forum. scans from different drives can’t be compared to one another.

DVDROM drives do not report errors correctly, if at all.
The 40x drives are not noted for low error counts when burning at max speeds, but with good media, burning at 32x, you should not see any C2, and C1 should be under 100 max (peak). A few C2 isn’t so bad, but none is better.

Originally posted by rdgrimes
DVDROM drives do not report errors correctly, if at all.