Buying a new DVD Writer..need advice

Well my current drive is dying on me…(Thanks EAC ;)) Well it was my fault for not giving my drive a break for like two days…oh well…this thing has always been a piece of crap…
Well now back to the current subject.
I found a drive at Best Buy for $80…
Heres a link.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id…41&type=product
Is this a decent drive?
Anyone heard anything about it?
I’ve found a few links…one saying it was rebadged as the BTC 1008IM and 1108IM burners
He also said that those two burners were crap…
i looked one of them up myself…most people said it was decent and that if you just upgraded the firmware it’d work fine…
Someone please respond…i’d really like a replacement soooonn…
I need advice bad.:wink:

Also…anyone know where i can find the firmware for it?

Sorry for the triple post…
I’m new to the whole dvd burning thing.
:\

I wouldnt get it. For that price you should be able to find a namebrand (ie pioneer, nec, liteon). With the 16x burners now out, the price for 8x should be well below 80 bucks right now. Keep looking

yuo can get a Nec 3500a from newegg.com for 78.00

It is my opinion that BTC makes very poor quality DVD burners. A friend of mine has a BTC 8x drive. Some months ago he wrote a DVD-R TDK branded at 4x or 8x I think and it was completely unreadable at about 30%…

If you are looking for a fast and reliable DVD burner for around 80 bucks, there are now the Pioneer DVR-108 and the NEC ND-3500A. As someone said NewEgg has it for 79.00 $ but I can’t tell you any other sites except for eBay because I live in Italy :wink:

I have bought the Pioneer as it seems to have a bit better writing quality than the NEC. Both are great drives, however. You choose.