Buy 812s,or not to buy

vbimport

was thinking of going to buy a dvd writer this weekend,a liteon 812s.
ihave been reading in the forums about them,and there seems a lot of people having second thoughts,whether its trying to write 8x,also having trouble with different media.
also that liteon prefers +R,and not -R,and it all gets confusing.
i dont really need d/l,but am i right in saying,that if you dont flash the 812s to the 832,then the 812s wont write 8xs?
i would prefer a liteon dvd writer,as i have the liteon 52x32x52 cdwriter,and so far i have always been with liteon,but whether their dvd writers are as good as their cdwriters,i dont know.
thats why i would like some advice on whether to buy the liteon writer this weekend,and if i do,will i have the same problems other people are having with their 812s.
im new to this dvd thing.all help will be appreciatted.thanks

nobody willing to give me any advice on this matter?i was looking forward to some advice from you,as i see there is a lot of acknowledgeable people on this site,especially as they deal with lite-on drives.oh well.

Welcome. :slight_smile:

I would always get the Liteon writer. Here’s some for and against to help you make your decision.

For:
Good at CD burning (fast & great quality)
Good at CD backup
Excellent error correction capabilities (good reader)
Fast DVD burner (with hacked firmware a full disc can burn in 8:30)

Against:
Picky with DVD media but will give great results with good quality media. And poor quality media has proven to not retain the data over time anyway.

COdeKing.
thank you for replying to my question,that gives me something to think about.
as to the media,what media would you recommend?
i will accept what you tell me,as it wont be a problem,as i will only be buying a couple of them to test them out,if you know what i mean.
thanks.