Burning widescreen

vbimport

hi, i use vso convertxtodvd, and i put the settings on 16:9 (widescreen) but when i play it on my tv, (nothing fancy, i think its a 32") part of the ends are cut out. but when i play it on my computer, it shows everything. is it my tv or do i put the settings on 4:3 (full screen)? i tried 4:3 with a different movie, but i cant really tell if its cutting the ends out or not (im a noob). but i kno it cuts out when i do 16:9 because it cuts out the names of casts in the beginnig if its towards the left or right. but the movie i burned using the 4:3, all the names were centered normally.

Well can your tv switch between wide screen and full screen mode? Check the tv menu to see if it gives your that option if it does set the tv mode to 16x9 and see how that looks.

What’s the image format you’re starting from? Is it 4:3? If so, you’ve a trade-off: either you get the vertical black sripes at the 2 sides of your 16:9 screen or you cut parts of the images.
Some TVs have special digital effects that allow the image to fill the screen bur deforms it: people seem to be lowered dow, as the way it is to strech the all thing.
Others, use the so called intelligent zoom to minimize the deformation.
So, if you start from 4:3 it is maybe better to leave the screen effects to the TV set, as coolcolors suggests.

I found the answer, based on what you said about Toast recognising 16:9 video. Final Cut Express was not exporting the QT movie in 16:9 format because I had used the simpler Export > QT Movie. Instead, I used Export > Using QT Conversion. I accepted all defaults except for Size - I chose Use Custom: 1024 and 576 (although perhaps Use Current Size would do).

The resultant QT movie displayed on my LCD computer monitor in 16:9 format (which it had not done before when doing Export > QT Movie) so that was a step forward.