Burning VCDs and/or SVCDs

Hi,
I think I’ll have to establish that I am a newbie before I get started.
I haven’t tried it yet, and I really do experiment too much with my computer and screw it up from time to time so I decided to check with you lot before I proceed with this one.

Say I have two video files on my computer. One’s 699mb big (part1 to a movie) and the other is 700mb big (part2). Both are encoded in/as Xvid formats. (Not sure what preposition one uses in those contexts)
Now let’s assume that I use Nero Express to create a SVCD. First of all I do have to get hold of a Xvid plugin for Nero right? Anyway, say I have one, and I then choose ‘part1’. In my head I get the feeling that Nero has to decode the Xvid and then Encode it in some Super VCD format (or did I jump on to the wrong train?), however, wouldn’t the SVCD format of that file become bigger than the Xvid? And if so, as my cds only have a 700mb limit, is it possible that Nero burns as much of part1 as possible and finished it off and then asks me to insert a new cd and continues?!
Please help, and I apologize for this immense post. :slight_smile:

Hi,

last time I tried, there was a plug-in required specifically for SVCD; but that one can get hold of. I remember that when trying to make a VCD and SVCD of the same clip, VCD worked at once, but I had to get the plugin for SVCD.

I think when the playing is longer, there was an option, something like Use multiple discs. I tried VCD/SVCD about half a year ago, so I don’t remember too clearly, but I think I recall that. I would suggest trying to make SVCD on CD-RW first, just to make sure you work out the details before you get permanent :slight_smile:

Good luck

Thanks a lot, I hate to wait a few days for that answer but it was worth it I guess :stuck_out_tongue:
Will try that.