Burning on to a dvd-rw

vbimport

hey everyone,

I’m pretty new to this stuff and have no idea what to do.
For starters, I have 18.21 GB worth of movies I want to delete from the computer. As far as I know dvd-rw’s can hold up to 4.7GB’s on one disc.
I’ve seen my brother [he’s not here to help] burn movies onto disc’s before but it always used to show that it would be full and not even a GB was burned. Does that mean its burning according to the minutes and not size?

Since the files I want to delete are really big, I would like to use the lowest number of discs possible. I did the math and I would need about 4 dics if it is burned by the size, and I would need about 16 discs if it is burned by the minutes. I would also like to view the files [TV] after burning.

I’m not sure if I’m even on the right track. Please help, and thanks for reading. :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Some more details about files you want to burn are needed, and also about your standalone player.

Rewritable media (i.e. the RW discs) are not reliable in the long term, so if these data you want to burn on discs are important for you it is better to use write once discs, and not RW media. It is very important, moreover, that you buy quality discs, because all “el cheapo” discs will become unreadable in a short time. Remember that the quality of the disc is one of the most important factors to avoid data loss.

Regarding the movies, are these AVI or DVD or other? Is your standalone player able to read avi movies or these must be converted first into DVD format?