Burning on the FLY question?

vbimport

Im a newbie so please excuse my ignorance:confused:

I have a combo 52x DVD Rom, and under it a new, Pioneer DVR-109, which is all I have used over the last few weeks for backups Ive been doing. (saving to hard drive 1st)

I tried to burn in one step using the dvd rom for the original disc, and the copy in the 109, but the dvd rom seems to go fast then slow etc etc :rolleyes: Am I doing something wrong or is this the wrong equipment to burn direct in one step?

Hope you dont think Im TOO stupid!:confused:

If reader and burner share the same IDE channel, this create a slowing of data flux between reader and burner.

On the fly copy is possible only if reader and burner are on different IDE channels.

Another possibility is that 1:1 copy is not possible because source disc is bigger than destination, so is necessary compression of the movie. Even with big CPU power, this operation is not possible on the fly, because video compression require many time.

@ rapallo,

Can you provide the Manufacturer/Model Number/Firmware Version of your DVD-ROM?

You can use DVDInfo Pro (http://www.dvdinfopro.com) or similar utility software program to obtain the Manufacturer/Model Number/Firmware Version of your DVD-ROM.

Also could you provide information on which DVDs in particular your DVD-ROM produces this phenomenon of speeding up and slowing down? In some instances this speeding up/slowing down behavior might be normal. This behavior might be explained by the fact the DVD being read in your DVD-ROM is a dual layer DVD and it is the “Layer-Break” being read during this speed up/slowing down. It might also be the decryption copy protection scheme that AnyDVD is working on to break/crack during these speeding up/slowing down periods.