Burning movie files to DVD

Im new to burning. hope this questions arent too lame

I burnt to Verbatim DVD R DL using Roxio Creator DE Free Download.
Ive successfully burnt two movies.
Two however fail. the files appear the same type VOB BUP IFO, whether the burning completes or fails and the error message is the same.

It Says…

[I]Recording error
Recording errors can occur when a disc contains dirt, fingerprints, or scratches.

If you are getting recording errors:

Try using a new disc.
Try using a different manufacturer’s disc.
Ensure the disc is clean before recording:
Remove all fingerprints, dirt, and dust from the shiny side of your disc using a nonabrasive cloth with a mild, nonabrasive soap solution.
Wipe the disc from the center to the edge.
Dry the disc completely. [/I]

clicking on the advanced explanation returns…

[I]Sense: 04 ASC: 03 ASCQ: 00 (Command 2A)

Px.dll: 3.2.52.500
PxAFS.DLL: 3.2.52.500
pxdrv.dll: 1.1.99.0
PxMas.dll: 3.2.52.500
PxSFS.DLL: 3.2.52.500
PxWave.dll: 3.2.52.500
pxwma.dll: 1.0.0.3[/I]

Can someone tell me what this means and if I can overcome this?

Secondly, even though the failed attempts fail, I can not reuse the DVD R disk again. is there a way to overcome this?

Finally, I believe using a DVD RW disc would overcome the second point above but is it possible to get a DVD RW disk that is 8.5 gig in size? I can only find DVD RW 4.7gig in size.

appreciate any help.

thanks
kroqster

The program most recommended for doing Dual Layer DVD’s, is IMGBURN. Many others seem to have issues with the layer break…

I don’t think there are any DL +RW disks available kroqster.

And once you make a coaster with a regular DL disk, it is gone for good, so there is no recovery possible.

Follow harley’s advice and use ImgBurn for double layer burns. Use only Verbatim brand DL media and burn at 4x.

See if one of these will help.

http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=86742

http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=86730