Burning issues

Okay,

Here’s my problem. This is my first time posting and I’m doing so because I’m having a huge burning problem.

It seems after two years of burning hoards of dvd’s that suddenly I’m having some issues. I burn using a number of programs … usually decrypter/shrink/slysoft comb. When I have problem backing up a particular movie I sometimes use dvd fab-express, Alcohol 120%, Roxio … you name it. Well, recently the discs I’m using seems to be a problem but I’m not positive. The trouble is if they are the issue they certainly weren’t at one time because I’ve done a lot of burning on them in the past and I still have a few hundred of them lying around the house. The brand is Memorex DVD-R. A buddy dropped a couple of discs over the otehr day to back-up a couple of movies for him and they burned fine. But I have a stack of at least 75 dead discs sitting in front of me from bad burns. What I don’t get is why all of a sudden??? In two years I’ve never had problems … sure an occasional disc but this is ridiculous and a waste of money.

Help???

I burn on a Lite-On DVDRW. It’s two years old and usually rock solid.

Any suggestions???

Thanks,
RedHope65

[QUOTE=RedHope65;1935515]The brand is Memorex DVD-R.[/QUOTE]
That’s your problem. Memorex is an inferior brand and using them you will have inconsistent results. Get yourself some better quality media (e.g. Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden) and your problems almost certainly will disappear.

Memorex is known to be inconsistent in there media quality, this is because they farm out the manufacture process and it’s not necessarily the same outfit. So the quality tends to be hit and miss.

Have seen issues, not necessarily what is happening in your case but cheaper brands of media that have been sitting around for awhile ( 1 Year Plus ) have been duds. Maybe because of the type of dye being used and degradation has cause the media to fail.

Have you tried a different brand of media?

IE: Verbatim or TY

:cool::cool: