Burning DVD with Nero 6 OEM

vbimport

I’m a beginner. I’ve downloaded some non-copyrighted concert videos. One is definitely AVI, the others I’m not sure, as the properties say only “Video clip.” I’m assuming mpeg or avi.
The question: how do I burn this to a DVD that will play in most standard DVD players? I tried one, with some difficulty, and it didn’t work.

WinXP, Nero 6.6.1.15, ATI Radeon 200 Pentium® D cpu 2.80Ghz
System memory 445mb cpu 2800 mhz bus 200mhz
dvd burner drive: TSST Corp SHS182D

I tried Nero Recode (to compress?) a 806,000kb file on to one disc. Got “Due to patent license restrictions, mpeg-4 encoding is not available,” then something about an upgrade. That was an avi.
I managed to burn it to a disc using one of the dvd programs in Nero Express (as data files I think) but it wouldn’t play in a stand-alone player. I can’t even open it on the compter to see what kind of files are in it; says the drive “can’t be accessed/incorrect function”.

I then tried to burn the 706,000kb “video clip.” Got the mpeg-4 message with Recode and with Nero Express 6 I got:

[I]One or more files could not be added to a compilation.

The following files may not reside in the VIDEO_TS directory of a DVD-Video compilation. Only compliant DVD-Video files
VIDEO_TS.IFO,
VIDEO_TS.VOB,
VIDEO_TS.BUP,
VTS_nn_0.IFO,
VTS_nn_0.VOB,
VTS_nn_0.BUP and
VTS_nn_m.VOB
can be added to the VIDEO_TS folder. Please add files from a completed DVD-Video title or use an authoring software like NeroVision Express to create DVD-Video files from standard video files such as *.avi and *.mpg.

The file does not match the current file filter.[/I]
Authoring program? Nero 6 won’t convert avi/mpeg to a dvd movie file (vob?)? Apparently this version of Nero doesn’t recognize mpg/avi. Is that right? The manual says I need NeroVision Express 3 to write a DVD. I would have thought, however, that I could at least burn avi or mpg files to a disc (even as dats files).