Burning DVD+R DL (n0ob)

Hi all, I just bought a NEC 3540 to replace my old ass burner… And I just bought a 3 pack of Memorex DVD+R DL for about $7.99 @ compusa… This is my first time ever trying to use a DL disc and I probably should have looked around or asked first before I tried… I used DVD Shrink to rip a DVD uncompressed and then tried to burn the ISO using A 120% But I got an error about 40% of the way into it… Any tips on settings or a better program to do all this with? Thanks for any help on the matter. :confused:

Welcome to the forum.
It may well be a media problem, which will be of little comfort to you now you have bought those discs already. Verbatim media is considered to be the best DL media available, you might like to try some the next time you purchase DL media.

That’s what I got to do. I bought some platinum (I don’t remember the mediacode) and the burning was awfull, the PIF reached 150 and PIE near 2000 (I think it was near these values) :a . But I live in Portugal and the only places I find selling Verbatin DL media is to expensive :frowning: !
But I also have bad results in SL media.
I just tried media from fortis, wich I didn’t expected to be good, but also from TDK, which I has hopping to be of good quality…
Liggy or Dee (or anybody else):
Can bad burns be result of not formating the harddrive for a long time? (I have instaled this windows 2 years ago)
One more thing, is dvd shrink good burning DVD’s or should I burn with Nero?
(I just read this http://www.cdfreaks.com/software/68 and it says dvdshrink doesn’t burn dvds but I’m almost sure I used it to burn one…)

dont use shrink…use dvd decrypter…Dee is right though…that memorex stuff is not good…get verbatim…:slight_smile:

Platinum uses RITEKD01 too. Verbatims are the only good choice.

But I use dvd decrypter to rip the dvd’s and use dvd shrink to convert to dvd5.

What has the target then to do with DL, when you have a DVD5 in the end???