Burning DVD+R DL always fails at 50%

I’m using BenQ DW1640 with RiData 2.4x DVD+R DL media.

I’ve tried using DVD Decrypter, CloneDVD, and Alchohol 120%. It almost always fails at 50%. What’s the deal?

-Elstevedore

elstevedore,
I suspect you have fallen victim to poorly made DL disks, but I don’t know for sure. Someone tell elstevedore whether the RiData DL are a quality branded media or just another outsourcer like Memorsux. I would never consider anything other than Verbatim +R DL so I have no experience with RiData.

Use the 1640’s bitsetting utility to booktype +R media to DVD-ROM.

What are the DL media speed rated at? Don’t burn at top speed … cut the burn speed down to half the media rating or at least one “notch” slower than the rated speed.

CloneCD (not CloneDVD) as well as Decrypter/ImgBurn (use ISO in&out mode)
http://www.slysoft.com/en/purchase.html
http://www.imgburn.com/
will (should in theory) preserve the original DVD9 movie’s layer break, when you burn to DL media, rather than invent it’s own position for a layer break. This gives you a true 1:1 backup of the original. And as I have said, booktyping insures broad player compatibility … your choice of the 1640 is excellent because it is a world class burner for doing exactly that!

But when you state that “…it almost always fails at 50%…”, it seems to indicate that the failure is occuring at the begining of the burning of the second layer (each of the softwares you mentioned will choose a different break point for this layer transition), that further indicates an “overall” media failure issue since it happened with all three backup softwares.

Best regards,
Whisperer

Booktyping is set to DVDROM for all media types. The discs are rated 2.4X but still fail at 1X. The fact that they always fail at exactly 50% leads me to suspect layer break issues and not faulty media, but I could be wrong.