Burning AVI files

I have a “Lite-On DVDRW LDW411S” DVD Burner and “Nero6”. I’m trying to burn some AVI files using “SonyDVD-R’s”. I’m burning them as DVDRom (ISO) (maybe that’s the problem?) Anyway sometimes it works, usually it doesn’t. It will burn OK for a while then a box comes up “Burn Process Failed”, I’m wasting too many DVD’s. I will only be playing these on my computer so I don’t need anything fancy, I just need to get them off my Hard Drive. They Burn to CDR’s no problem.

I realize I probably need to provide more information in order for anyone to help me, please just ask. I’m pretty new to this, but please bear with me.

Thank You

I posted this in the Newbies forum, I guess that’s OK? It would end up here anyway.

Possibly a buffer underrun problem. Do a test burn and watch the buffer fill level bars. If at any point during the middle of the burn they go to zero, you need to free up more RAM and close any unnecessary programs while you burn. Alternatively, try burning at a slower speed (though I wouldn’t recommend doing so for DVDs).

While I agree with btspm, another suggestion as well. Spend the extra money and buy a few dvd-/+rw’s to cut your teethe on. If you hose the disk on a failed burn, you can format it and try again. More expensive up front, but if your burning coasters pretty regular, they will pay for themselves quick.

I’ve been burning AVI’s on DVD-R/+R for awhile and can tell you there is no substitute for good quality media. I think this is your problem.

Well I tried rebooting, turning off all my programs and burning some more. The first two went without a problem. The last one failed at 99%, but only the last file was messed up the rest were fine. Certainly an improvement. Would installing more Memory help any?

What do you suggest?