Burning a Movie

Good evening all,

I was looking for some help if possible please. I am completely new to Movie buring etc and was looking for some help if possible. Firstly I have got a movie I wish to put to DVDr however when looking around the only disc size I can see is 4.7gb, whereas the movie I have is bigger and longer than the disc allows 120mins?! Whats the next step?

1. I do not yet have a Movie burner software etc, havent got a clue what I need to get? Any help?

Thank you for your help
Kirby

Current movie wanting to burn (if it helps)

Length: 1:33:02
Size 799mb
Type > Video clip

Welcome to CDF’s:

If it’s 799mb it will fit on a DVDR/RW. Just a tad to big for a CD-R (700mb).

You can use ImgBurn for free to burn it www.imgburn.com

As Bob said your 799mb file will fit nicely onto a DVD, but if your standalone player isn’t capable of playing an avi then you’ll have to convert it with something like DVD Flick (free). Here is a guide ~ http://club.cdfreaks.com/f59/dvd-flick-basic-guide-228005/

yeah i keep forgetting that as i have a Divx/DVD/USB player…

Thank you for your help just a quick question again if you dont mind, if it fits why do they only say 4.7gb/120mins? Thank you ! Also I am prepared to pay for a good DVD burner software, is there one that stands out or is the free program just as good?
Thanks again
Kirby

P.S Just double checking my laptop can burn DVDS it has

DVD Multi Recorder
Compact disc rewritable
&
DVD Rw writable on the side

?
Thanks

You have a what is called a Divx file i believe and they are a shrunk down type file in a different format than a DVD.

As far as an app to use…we need more info on what you need. If you want to backup your DVD’s or what. Remove copy protection etc…

Need more info on your drive in your lappy. What does it say it is in the Device Manager?