Burning a DVD (Optiarc AD-7203S)

[qanda]This thread is about the Optiarc AD-7203S. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Firstly ‘Hello’ to everyone, and apologies in advance if I’ve posted this in the wrong place (hope not :confused:)

I bought my Son new PC for Christmas, and for the last 3 weeks or so we’ve been trying to figure out how to burn DVDs. It’s something I’ve never done before. I’ve been googling for ages and found myself going round in circles, the whole thing is driving me mad now!

Whenever we burn a DVD it takes a while to complete but then when we remove and reinsert the disc it asks do we want to format the blank disc!
We’ve tried various freeware and shareware products to convert the files and burn them, as well as Windows DVD maker, but we keep getting the same message.

The machine is Packard Bell iMedia X2426 running Vista

The drive is Optiarc DVD RW AD-7203S SCSI CdRom device

I’m sure I’m probably just overlooking something simple. If anyone can offer any advice it’s apreciated, I feel like chucking the thing out of the window!

Thanks, Bob’s Mum

Welcome to the forum Bob’s Mum.

What types of files are you trying to burn? Vista has a native burning engine that allows you to drag and drop data files to the dvd drive, but I prefer to use a dedicated burning program.

If you are trying to burn dvd-video, you will have to use a third party program. I like the free program called ImgBurn. www.imgburn.com
It is a burning program only, so if you need to convert video to dvd-video format, you’ll have to use something else. What format are your files in now?

We recommend Verbatim brand 16x disks. Have you tried these yet?

Ok, just to make things more complicated… I’ve just tried again and now I have a new problem:
It stopped at 99% and said "The owner SID on a per-user subscription doesn’t exist"
Can anyone tell me what’s going on? :sad: