Burner or authoring

vbimport

Hi!! I’m a Newbie (guess you figured that, otherwise I wouldn’t be here). My name’s Summer. I’m 22 and finishing up a degree in CS. :stuck_out_tongue:

OK, now that that’s out of the way…
I’ve been wanting to get into film editing for some time but never had the time. Now I’ve started and I’m having a few problems and questions. :a

I’ve created a media file with Adobe Premiere. I want to put this file onto a DVD but want to be able to add other files later and then after the DVD is full, make a menu screen.

I’m not sure what program I should use. Would a normal burning program like Nero be OK or do I need a DVD authoring program since I want to create a menu when I’m finished? Also, what are the best programs out there? Another question, I have some burning software that’s for creating CDs, would this work for DVDs or would it better to get software that is for both CDs and DVDs?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

DVDs cannot be constructed piece-meal; you must author the media files and create the menu structure before you burn anything or it just wont work. You will definitely need an authoring program.

http://www.doom9.org/mpg/dvdauthoring.htm
Here’s a list to get you started.

Once your authoring program spits out a DVD-compatible file structure, you can use almost anything to burn the files, but you will get the best results with a program that knows how to burn the files and directory structure for maximum compatibility. The latest versions of Nero do OK, but you could have problems with older versions. The situation is similar for other mainstream burning programs.

So all I have to do is use an authoring program to create the menu and things and then I can put the video files on using Nero?

The version I have is 6.0.0.28.