Burner dont work :(

vbimport

Hello, I am new to this site. I am having burner issues and praying someone can help me resolve the issue. I am a NOOB to the computer world as some may call it. I am using a LG super multi drive.One day it burns fine , actually the first 3 burns went great (flawless)… Then the video started going very choppy for every burn. Then it stopped working all together WILL NOT BURN AT ALL. Even when I play store bought video , the video is choppy . Please help me if possible:)

It is possible that DMA has been turned off for the drive if it is a regular IDE interface drive. That probably sounded like Greek, but it is a pertinent answer I assure you.

Tell us the exact model LG that you have. We will then be able to tell if it is an IDE interface or SATA. You can find this information by going to My Computer, right click on the drive icon and choose Properties. Then click on the Hardware tab. The name of the drive should show up there.

If DMA is off, the drive will not burn properly and may have issues on playback also. Look in my signature for a link that refers to Womble’s guide for checking DMA. Click on the link and follow the instructions in that guide. The most important part to look for is Current Transfer Status. It should be Ultra DMA 2 or 4…NOT PIO mode.

The model is HL-DT-STDVD-RAM GHN22NS301.02

I hope that helped in the matter above :slight_smile:

I’m hoping that you have a typo in there and this is actually a model GH22N. That would make it an IDE interface drive made by LG. If you look inside the computer and see a wide, grey cable attached to the back of the optical drive, then you can be sure it is an IDE model. SATA cables are usually red and thin.

Did you try the guide for checking DMA?

I tried the guide with no luck :frowning: went through the guide as instructed and the DMA is turned on. Yes the cable connecting is red and thin…