Burner burns badly skipping audio CDs

vbimport

Hello all! Since this is my first post here, I may as well mash up my introduction with my troubleshooting. I am a junior chemical engineering student and part time computer fiddle-with-er. I have a decent knowledge of how to make nonfunctioning computers function, but at least 98% of the terms I’ve so far encountered trying to fix this thing are completely unknown to me, so please be slow and gentle.

Anyway, I have recently been encountering issues with my Optiarc DVD-RW AD-5540A in my laptop. Whenever I burn audio CD’s at 24x (I have always burned them fine at this speed!) the songs will have awful gaps in them, usually comprised of the first two seconds of the song and a few chunks out of the beginning parts. By maybe 30-45 seconds into each track, the skipping ceases and it plays as normal, only to have the next track skip as well. I reseated the drive and noted that one of the screws that support it was loose, so I secured it. I then did something called a ‘Advanced DAE test’ in Nero’s CD-DVD Speed application, which after creating a sample audio CD ran some tests to see if everything was okay. Here are the results of that test, as I am at a loss as how to interpret them:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Offset
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
264 bytes (66 samples)

Sequential Read Test
Average Speed: 18.22 X
Data errors: 0
Sync errors: 0

Random Read Test
Average Access Time:  168 ms
Data errors: 0
Sync errors: 0
Total Data Errors: 0
Total Sync Errors: 0
Quality Score: 100.0

On The Fly Copying Simulation
Copying at 1 x
OK
Copying at 2 x
OK
Copying at 4 x
OK
Copying at 6 x
OK
Copying at 8 x
OK
Copying at 10 x
OK
Copying at 12 x
OK
Copying at 16 x
too slow

CD Text
Drive is capable of reading CD Text information

Subchannel Data
Test 1
  Track (01): 01