Burned first two coasters ... reasons why?

vbimport

I know up front that I might not get any good answers here and that things like this might "just happen," but I'm a newbie at this (had my burner for about a month) and am still learning, and I've always found that on computer related stuff I get better, easier to understand answers on forums like this than from instruction books or help sections, which to me almost universally seem to be written in Hittite.

I have a Lite-On LTR-40125W burner, 40X12X48, and am using Nero version 5.5.7.8 that was bundled with the burner.

The first 20 discs I burned, had absolutely no problems, it was almost too easy. The last 9 I've burned, I've had two coasters. Here is what happened in each case, with as much detail as I can remember:

1. Wanted to copy a CD-R. Source CD-R is a little old and is not great quality media and has a goodly bit of pops and crackles and clicks. So, what I tried to do was save each track individually as a WAV file, use Nero's declicking (and dehiss) filter on every track and, hopefully, produce a little better version of this. I was using a Taiwanese TDK 16X "for audio" disc, the last one in a pack of 20 and had had no problems with the other 19. Disc was burning at 16X. Got to the second track and it gave me a write error on it, then the burn process failed. I then used another disc ... Japanese Fuji, says 24X in one place on the label but 40X on another place; I burned it at 24 ... and did a straight disc copy and it worked fine. Any ideas what happened here? Was what I tried to do with the filters unwise and too much for Nero to handle? Or could it have just been one bad disc in the pack?