Burned DVD works in computer, but awful quality in stand-alone DVD player. Using DVDFlick - need suggestions!

vbimport

Computer: Dell Latitude D630
Burner: Built-in HL-DT-ST DVD ±RW GSA T11N
Software: DVDFlick
Stand-alone DVD Player: Pioneer (not HD, not sure of model - can check if important)
Camcorder: Sony DCR-HC-96 Handycam - DV Cassette media

I’m new to all the video stuff. Trying to get videos from camcorder to DVD so that I can send videos of my son to his great grandparents. Able to bring video from Handycam into computer in AVI format using supplied Sony PicturePackage software, but that software doesn’t recognize my DVD burner. Also able to bring video in WMV format using Windows Movie Maker, for whatever that might be worth. Found DVDFlick software and tried it - able to burn DVD that plays fine (good quality) on my computer, but when I put it in my stand-alone entertainment center DVD player the sound is awful (also like it is playing in slow motion a little, with alot of background noise - really bad). Video may also be in a little slow motion, but this is not as noticeable. I didn’t have any DVD-R discs, so I burned it to a CD-R 700 MB - not sure if that makes a difference.

Trying to figure out what to try next. Different software? Burn to DVD-R? A compatibility problem with my DVD burner/DVD player?

Options for troubleshooting seem endless…looking for some guidance on what to try. Willing to buy new software if I can get some confidence it would work, but don’t want to just keep buying new software is that’s not the problem.

Thanks to anyone that takes the time to try and help me!

[quote=Frustrated Newbie;2056052]Computer: Dell Latitude D630
Burner: Built-in HL-DT-ST DVD ±RW GSA T11N
Software: DVDFlick
Stand-alone DVD Player: Pioneer (not HD, not sure of model - can check if important)
Camcorder: Sony DCR-HC-96 Handycam - DV Cassette media