Burned DVD+R on 3520A is not able to play in Philips DVDR70

Hi,
Please help, I just finally bought my first computer DVD recorder but unfortunately I haven´t been able to burn any DVDs that I can watch on my stand-alone Philips DVDR70 player that I have to my TV. I try to burn an ISO file of a DVD from my harddrive to a DVD+R disc and everything just seams to work out fine. The DVD is burned and I can watch the movie on my computer DVD players but I can not watch it in my Philips player even if this supports the DVD+R media. If I burn the same ISO file in DVD+R format at a friends house then I have no problem watching the film on my Philips DVD player. To burn I have tried using Nero 6.6.0.1 and also Alcohol 1.9.5. As I am new to DVD burning I have read some in this forum and also asked around along my friends. Can the firmware in my DVD writer prevent me from burning those kind of files correctly so that I have to flash another firmware into my writer? None of my friends have done this with there DVD writers (not the same brand) and never heard that you should have to do this, but in the forum I read alot about reflashing the writer with newer and cracked firmware. Does anyone know what the problem can be? I have tried 3 different ISO files with the same result. My DVD writer is a NEC DVD-RW ND-3520A. I really want to make this DVD writer work.
Thanks a lot guys,
/smicker

Welcome to the forum.
There could be many reasons why the burned discs wont play on your set top player.

1, Is your media good, have you burned your media on your friends PC’s?
2, Are the ISO files authored correctly with a DVD-Video complient file set?
3, Your set top player may require DVD+R booktype to set as DVD-ROM, if this is the case you will require a firmware that supports bitsetting for +R media.
4, have you scanned any of your burned discs using Nero CD-Speed to check on the burn quality?
5, Does the discs you have burned play on your friends set top players?