Burn Time

I recently purchased DVDFab Platinum… I havent had a problem untll recently.

It seems the copy time is pretty quick. The whole copy / burn process was maybe 30 mins, but the last two movies that I’ve burned, have taken over 16 hours to burn?? Any ideas or suggestions??

The movies were Life and Smokin’ Aces.

So I tried using my other burning… and it seems to be working fine… Wonder whats wrong with my other burner all of a sudden.

Windows may have put the drive you had been burning on in PIO mode. Try clicking the Reset DMA button in Common Settings, then reboot.

Hi, I would deffinitly do what my friend signals suggested first. Also to check which mode you are in, you can go to device manager and see for yourself what it’s set at 0k ? Good luck. If it’s set to DMA, then let us know and we’ll try something else. ~ Mike

Ok… I’m new to this… DMA?? I went into the device manager, and I didnt see anything there…

I even asked someone here at work, and we couldn’t figure it out.

Hi gixxerchic,

First off, simply click on [B]Reset DMA [/B] tab in Fab as signals suggests.
Click on the little [B]gear icon [/B] (upper right corner of the app) > [B]Reset DMA[/B].
If this doesn’t do it, click on the 2 links in my sig and follow the instructions/screenshots
I think it’s likely you’ll have to run the VBS Script file (contained in the 2nd link)

Any problems, just post back.

Hope this helps.

To check in device manager to see if your burners are in DMA mode do the following, open device manger, click on IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers, right click on Primary IDE Channel, click properties then click advanced settings and the transfer mode is what your burner is in either PIO or Ultra DMA mode4. Do this step also for the Secondary IDE Channel, DMA means direct memory acess which is the fastest mode for your burners to operate in, but do as Tom said is the quickest way to reset it :bigsmile:

Oohh… I was looking at the actually properties of the burner!