Burn DVD to DVD?

vbimport

Hello PPL…
My name is strangebrew & am what you would consider a “computer illiterate”…
Here’s my situation…
I’ve been burning CD’s for several years w/ satisfactory results,however I believe my burner is on its last leg…Now I’m trying to decide whether to just
get another CD burner or plunge into the 21st century w/ a cd/dvd burner…
This would involve buying two new drives…a dvd player & a burner…
What I would kike to know is it possible to burn dvd to dvd as you can w/ cd’s or is it a MUST to first put onto your hard drive then to the copy???
I’m kinda hard drive space limited…
Sorry I’m so long winded & thankyou in advance
happydaze
strangebrew

you dont need to buy 2 drives. i have a single dvd writer drive. i put in the original and then it burns to the hard drive and then burns to a disc. it deletes the file from the hard drive once the disc is burned. So i would definetly say go with a good dvd burner. that way it will burn cds and dvds and also will play cds and dvds

edit: im not sure how much space it takes up on the hard drive for the copy. i would imagine its not too much space though.

It is not suggested to burn dvds on the fly( or from 1 drive to another). If you have limited hard drive space thats a large problem because you need at least about 4.39 gigs space for a dvd5 and about 8gigs for a dual layer dvd.

BUMMER!!!..thanx for the reply tho…
out of curiosity why is it not suggested???
just doesn’t burn properly???
happydaze
strangebrew

I would imagine its because you cant see if the dvd has ripped properly. You should be ok anyway, but hard-disks arnt that expensive nowerdays… ah… just thought… how old is your computer? can you post your system specs? It may not be able to handle dvd, as my family computer is about 7 years old, with 6gb of memory and 160mb of ram…

'tis a few years old…
Dell Dimension 8200
Pentium 4 2.00 GHz
512 MB Ram
37 Gig HardDrive
10 Gig available…