Can you burn a CD iso onto a DVD?

I tried to burn
KANOTIX-2005-03.iso
and
SimplyMEPIS-3.3.1-1.iso
to a DVD-RW using Nero Express (6.6.0.8) and both times it said
‘Gimme a CD’

Are CD images that different from DVD?

It shouldn’t be that much different. But did you select a DVD project, or a CD project? They are different in Nero express. If you have started a DVD project, I don’t think it should ask for a CD. I am not a pro with Nero, though :slight_smile:

If all else fails, you can check another program which is free or has a free trial (e.g., SwiftDisc www.swiftdisc.com).

Good luck.

The simple way of burning images like this is to use DVD Decrypter (www.afterdawn.com). This will convert the slightly different formats automatically for you.
Why would you want to burn a CD image to a DVD?

BUP IFO and MPEG files. They all play on InterVideo and PowerDVD player. I downloaded this file : Oceans_Twelve.torrent (BitLord) that was split into 2 folders

AUDIO_TS (no files in that folder)

VIDEO_TS This VIDEO folder had all the IFO BUP and MPEG files. I lucked into playing the movie in on InterVideo and PowerDVD player by dbl clicking the VTS_01_0.IFO file.

NOW THE QUESTION???NOW THE QUESTION

Why didn’t I read the forum rules that I agreed to when I joined the forum before asking for help with my illegal download. :doh:

My email is oilrus@frontiernet.net Thank you on advance !!!

Kindly

Joe Copia (This is my first post here) weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Kikibug - I tried Nero again selecting DVD and it still said ‘CD please’
I tried BurnatOnce and same thing.

TimC - DVD Decrypter worked.
I just used ISO - Write mode and it just worked no problems for some reason. Both isos booted fine aswell.
Why use a DVD? I’m out of CDs and have a few DVD-RWs.

Cheers

try Burn4free :smiley:
you can download it from here
http://www.burn4free.com/
it can burn CD image (eg. *.iso, *.nrg) on a DVD disc

[QUOTE=manson;2020677]try Burn4free :smiley:
you can download it from here