Burn as video or data?

vbimport

For integrity reasons, when trading, is it best to burn things as data or as video? It is best to burn as data when dealing with audio CDs. CDs require ripping, whereas DVD can simply be copied and pasted to the computer. So is a data DVD the same thing as a video DVD?

Someone’s sending me some stuff and I have no knowledge of the software or media he’s using, so it would probably be best to ask him to make an MD5 file before he burns and then burn them as data right? Can anyone advise me of a simple thing that will allow one to create an MD5 file for a folder? Suggestions for Mac and Windows, cuz I’m not sure what his OS is.

A data dvd is not the same as a dvd-video. Many stand alone players in the past would not recognize dvds that were burned as data, even if the data was a dvd-video.

There is a slight difference in the format. DVD-video uses a bridge file system, with both a subset of UDF 1.02 and ISO9660. The files must be contiguous, and they must appear in a specific order for dvd-video. And there are limits to the size of each vob file in a normal dvd-video. 1gb is the upper limit that most players will recognize.

I’m not sure why you want md5 files, unless you are worried about the integrity of the files that you’ve downloaded. I don’t normally mess with them, so you’ll have to wait for someone else to advise you on md5.

Copy & paste for DVDs…how hilarious.

[QUOTE=chef;2694597]Copy & paste for DVDs…how hilarious.[/QUOTE]

Wait, why is that hilarious? I verified this via message board comments. Seemed reputable as one was a comment from an administrator on a video forum. Using software is unnecessary unless there’s copy protection. This proved to be true as I copied a few DVDs via copy & paste and there didn’t seem to be any problems whatsoever.

I’d ask each of my trading pals for their preference - to send the raw Data Files (the VIDEO_TS files) as a Data-DVD, or if they want it burned as a Video-DVD.