Burn and Shrink time...is this normal?

vbimport

I am fairly new to burning movies and just wanted to make sure the time it has been taking me is normal.
I use dvd shrink, and most movies (ones that are compressed around 50%) take about 1.5 hrs to be deeply analyzed and then encoded. ones that don’t need compressed at all usually take 1/2 hr to be encoded.
from there i burn the disk with clonedvd1. i have an 8x writer, so I burn at 8x (with 8x dvd-r media) and it takes about 20 min to burn a disk.
I had clonedvd2 for the trial period awhile back and it took about 20 min writing at 4x, which is one reason i am confused.
I really just want to know if these times are about right or if there is a way i could be doing it faster. maybe there is a program better/faster than shrink that people use…
thanks!

NMR1279,

The combination of AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 are excellent programs for backing up your DVD collection. These two programs work in conjunction with each other and are easy to use. These two programs have been around quite a long time and are constantly updated and produce excellent results.

Depending your computer hardware system the combination of AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 will Rip, Transcode, and Burn most DVDs in approximately 20 minutes.

Suggest looking at the “Clone DVD FAQ” Read First sticky in the beginning of this Forum for information about these two excellent programs.

Best Regards,
bjkg

There is no need to run “deep analysis” with Shrink (no visual improvement). If you want to maintain a high quality picture, then split the movie to two DVDs.

If you don’t need to compress the title, then the “rip time” for an average movie is around 20 minutes. Your actual speed will vary depends on how fast your DVD drive can read the data on the DVD disc and the speed of your PC.

4x burn…15 min
8x burn…10 min