BTC IDE1008 major problem

vbimport

Hi there!
Can I start by saying that I’m not a technical expert. I’ve got a major problem with this unit. I am getting a constant error which says that “the driver detected a controller error” on the drive.

The drive will not read any files or open anything CDs or DVDs. It is also hanging the system.

I am running Windows Xp Pro.

Any ideas?

Would you call your physician on the phone and say nothing more than “I hurt, doc. Can you fix me?”

If we’re to diagnose the problem without making wild gueses, more info is necessary.

• Have you tried booting from a DOS floppy? What happens?
  • How is the drive configured? Is a master or slave? Is it the only drive on an IDE channel or is it sharing with another device - what is that other device?
  • Using a 40-wire or 80-wire cable? Plugged into the end connector or the middle connector?
  • What are you doing when the error occurs?
  • Is this a new drive or one which has been working?
  • Any changes (ANY, even if not related) to system since it worked?
  • Is the drive connected to one of the two standard IDE controllers on your motherboard or to an additional controller either on the MoBo or an add-in card?
  • Have you run Nero’s Infotool & checked it’s ASPI test? It’ll also tell give you the master/slave and controller information.
  • What kind of processor? What motherboard chipset?
  • Are you using IDE drivers supplied by the motherboard mfr or by Microsoft as part of the OpSys? Have they been updated recently?
  • What ASPI are you running? What version? What does ASPICHK say?
  • Do you have any Packet-writing software installed (like Roxio’s Drag-to-Disc or Nero’s InCD?)?

:bow:

Regards, Martin A

InCD

Sorry but I’m not an expert…so I can’t necessarily do all the things I need to to check this but hopefully this will give you more information