BTC DVD-ROM DOS Firmware help

vbimport

recently updated firmware of my BTC BDV316E DVDROM using BTC’s liveupdate program, this didnt work out.
Contacted BTC helpdesk and advised to relash in DOS.
Unfortunatly I’m not an expert with DOS and having problems with BTC’s instructions and generally not getting very far. I understand the need to boot into DOS and then run their NTFSDOS disk which I have tried but cant get access to the firmware om my copied to harddisk.

Have copied BTC instructions below for info, I need help and detailed instructions in either 1. how to get to my C: drive to access the firmware or 2. is there a better way of doing this. Any advise appreciated. thanks :confused:

BTC instructions -
1.Please extract the enclosed DOS version firmware to a hard disk folder(such as c: emp).
2.Make a MS-DOS boot floppy disk.

How to make a MS-DOS floppy disk?
a.Insert a floppy disk into floppy drive.
b.Double click My Computer Icon on desktop.
c.Right click floppy A choose Format.
d.Choose Make a MS-DOS bootable disk.

3.Turn PC off.
4.Unplug drive (power and IDE cable)
5.Boots on pure DOS environment (use MS-DOS boot floppy disk)
6.Plug drive (power and IDE cable)
7.Change to firmware folder(such as c: emp)(If C is a NTFS file system please execute NTFSDOS enclosed)
8.Type f l4 (Drive connect as Secondary slave) or fl (Drive connect as Secondary master)
9.After flash complete please reboot, Windows will recognize drive then flash latest firmware by Liveupdate tool.

Warning!

1.DOS flash utility program can’t be used under DOS mode of Windows!

2.plug drive on IDE Secondary master or slave,not on IDE Primary master/slave

3.If your drive is an USB device, please return to dealer for the procedure.

hi,

sometimes the drive letters are changed when you boot to DOS with a NTFS partition.
sometimes the c:\ is changed to D:\

also i used the boot disk from the site.
it has the NTFS driver included and a ide utility.
http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org/Firmware_FAQ.html