Bought Doom 3, now what?

vbimport

Daemon v3.46 installed. Alcohol 1.9.2 build 1705 installed. I am trying to back these 3 disks up as .iso files in my gaming drive, but I keep getting read errors in alcohol, no matter what drive I try it in. Am I missing something? I’m fairly new to backup up games to .iso. I’ve done everything i’ve read in the forums, but I keep getting these read errors. I’ve tried the safedisk profil, i’ve tried the safedisk 2/3 profile, but I can’t make these to .iso. the game installs from the cd’s fine, but I just wanna back em up as .iso cause I back everything up. Suggestions? thanks in advance. glad to be here

Doom 3 has SafeDisc as the copy protection. This means that the read errors should be there. I would change from using ISO to alcohol’s native format as the ISO format doesn’t store any of the copy protection infomation which means it is bascially useless.

I agree that you should use Alcohol 120%'s native format, however .iso will work just fine for Doom3.

Cheers

so use safedisk 2/3 profile, and use the .mds file type? is that the native format? And I can just ignore the read errors?

Use SafeDisc 2/3 profile don’t change anything in the reading and writing options, use slow speed like 4x for reading and writing and .MDS is Alcohol native format. Good luck :).

p.s. can you list all your drives, would be some help for us.

Ok i’ve set it on the 2/3 profile and changed the read speed to 4x. But still the progress just stays at 1% and I get consisnet read errors. Again, do I need to ignore the read errors? Does this normally take forever? Here are my system specs.

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 1 To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Processor a Main Circuit Board
2400 megahertz Intel Pentium 4 (2 installed)
8 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P4S800D-E Rev 1.xx
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz