Bought a benq 1620 - need urgent help - don't know how to set up jumper

vbimport

I got a benq 1620 and tried to install it. I am new to burners. so bear with me.
I have a cdrom on top 5.25 inch bay and i installed the benq 1620 on bottom 5.25 inch bay.
i plugged all the jumpers. and started the computer and it won’t start.
so i took out the benq 1620 cables - the power and the the other. and the computer works.
on back of benq 1620 there is a slave master something - jumper setting.
there is a black plastic that jumper set at master.
i dont have any clue how to set it to slave.
can anyone help me please.
morever i have a dell computer and the benq came with 4 screws and i could only put 3 screws because if i put the 4th screw the benq 1620 burner wont go inside and gets stuck 1/4th way. do i need to put the 4th screw?

What is your Dell model? I prefer to put the BenQ in master but from your questions, this is going to be hard, I will try to give an easy instruction by setting the BenQ as slave and live the CDROM as master.

1. Make your BenQ as slave: take out the jumper from the back of BenQ (from master) and put it in the slave pin.
  2. Put the BenQ in the second (bottom) bay.
  3. Notice that the gray thin IDE cable that plugged to your CDROM has the black color pins. In the same IDE cable it should have the grey pins. Put the gray pins into BenQ.
  4. Find an extra power cable and plug it in the BenQ.
  5. Don’t worry about the screws, 3 is enough.

Should work now. Let us know how it goes.

i did that and it is working now. but i did it before what you wrote and did by myself althought at times it got frustrating.
now my benq 1620 has come with b7h9 firmware.
is this firmware good enough to burn dvd movies?
also i my cdrom would not come out as one screw attaching it to hard drive is acting stuborn and refuses to cooperate. so i have no idea what my cdrom is on - whether master or slave or cable select?