Blue screen when playing DVD

vbimport

First of all…this is my first post so hi to everyone :slight_smile: . I actually stumbled across this forum trying to find a solution to the problem Im having with my new BenQ DW1655 LightScribe DVD ReWriter. Read some of the posts and you all seem to know alot about this stuff so hopefully one of you can tell me what I did wrong. I have very little knowledge of putting in/replacing things on my comp as all the comps Ive had were pre built. I bought this new drive and finally got it in and working…or so I thought. It seems to play normal cds just fine but whenever I put in a DvD to watch a movie or something the screen goes blue and I get this big long message saying windows has shut down blah blah please restart in safe mode or something similiar to that. I have to hit restart and eject the disk before windows reloads or it just goes straight to that screen again. I use WinXP. Any ideas on how I can make it work right? crosses fingers

The Geno

It seems it may be a software problem but need more info. What program do you use to play dvds and some info on your computer ram etc. I am not sure if we can help you without further info. Are you overheating ,what operating system-is your power supply adequate.Were you having such problems prior to the installation of this drive. Good luck and welcome to cdfreaks.

I use the Dell Media Experience program to watch DvDs since it was the default (yes I have a dell) and I never bothered to change it since its always worked fine. I have a 3.2gig pent4 1gig ram, windows XP, not overheating, no problems with power supply. And the problem didnt start til I got this drive. The one that I had before was just a normal dvd drive, not a burner. But I gave it away. It doesnt even try to play the movie it just goes to the blue screen before it even opens the player. I thought maybe it was a defective drive or something but it reads normal cds just fine.

This is what the blue screen says…