Blu ray burner and disk question

vbimport

I was very interested in getting into the BLU RAY scene. I was curious because I would like to start backing up my blu ray movies.

I had a couple basic questions.

1. I would like a good BR burner but I’m kinda new to these. Could someone point me in the right direction of a good burner that won’t break the bank?

2. Can I use duel layer disks to back up blu rays? I saw some blu ray disks but they are crazy expensive!!! Like 40 bucks for 3 disks.

3. I just want to back up the entire blu ray disk. Nothing fancy. So how many movies can I fit on a blank disc?

Thank you so much. Sorry for the newb questions. But I gott start somewhere lol =)

The blu ray burner that most would recommend is not a very inexpensive one. It is the Pioneer BDR-205BKS: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827129051

If that is just completely out of your price range, there is this LG for sixty dollars less: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136181

If you don’t intend to burn blu ray media, you don’t have to have a blu ray burner at all, just a blu ray rom drive. You might want a combo drive that can only read blu ray, but can read and burn single and double layer dvds Here is an example at Newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136195

There are several more BD combo drives available there, from manufacturers including LG, Samsung, Lite-on and Asus

It is possible to back up blu ray movies. You’ll need a decryption program for this. AnyDVD HD and DVDFab are two good choices. DVDFab has a section within it called DVDFab HD Decrypter. It will continue to function as a decryption/ripping program even after the trial for the main section expires. The only caveat is that it will lag behind the commercial version by 8 weeks or so on decryption updates.