Blocky Menus?

I am new to dvd2one and am familiar with how variable and constant bitrates work. However, I need some assistance.
This past weekend I have done some extensive testing/comparisons with dvd2one and Clone DVD. I have found that dvd2one produces ‘slightly’ better results than Clone DVD for any movie, long, short, with or without menus. My main question is why are menus blocky for long 2 to 2 1/2 hour films when using the variable bitrate?
Constant bitrate produces better looking ‘movies’ even when doing full disk copies. However, the menus are generally compressed too much and look terrible, even for short 1 1/2 hour flicks.
Variable produces much better looking menus, still great quality movies, but for the longer films the menus are noticeably blockier even with stuff like audio/subtitles removed?
I must say though, Clone DVD lets you do episodes and has quite a nice GUI, but still does not produce the same quality as dvd2one. So it looks like variable for full disk copies. Constant for movie only or full disk copies, provided you can put up with blocky menus but a fantastic quality film. What do you guys think?

I have (for the first time) encountered the menu blockiness and fuzzyness as well with one film;

Entrapment

used DVD2one v1.20 (constant, full-disk) and Nero as I use with all of my compressed movies. The movie and other extras are very good. I would not try variable because I want the movie to maintain a constant bit-rate. I would first view the bit-rate of the original image with Power-DVD and/or my Sony Player. Typically the processed movie would be about half of the originals BR. Thankfully the developers of DVD2one are constantly refining their product per the user populations input.

One of the DVD2One fellas online can probably confirm this, but the impression I’ve gathered over the last few weeks is this: