Blank media taxed!

I explained to a friend why blank media(DVD and CD) are taxed in europe. the “fee” will go to copyright owners.(btw, i doubt of that)

…and I said more they tax us, more people will download illegal files on the p2p.

the person said I was totally wrong, they tax us so we can say to our friends and family if they stop to download files, they wont tax us anymore!!!

I said that s BS, because nothing will stop people to download, tax or no tax on media.

I am stupid or he is stupid???

c) All of the above

And yes, the blank media tax/levy is to compensate copyright holders for copies of their work made on blank media.

C) :iagree:

so and where is my money from levy.

I am an artist and so far I have nor seen 1 euro coming!!!I want my $$$ , the money u are stealing from me… u took the bread of my mouth and my kids have now nothing to eat!!

this tax is BS…it is just a new way to tax us and nothing in return. :a

You have to be listed with the organisation that collects these fees.

And it is no tax…

Whats the difference? It’s applied to ALL media (in my country), and even though the “fee” goes to Copy-Swede, it’s mandatory by state law. So whats a tax then?

Officially it’s a levy, but the word tax also gets used a lot. I think tax can only be collected by the government, while a levy can be collected by anyone.

/me starts to doubt this now, because airport taxes don’t get collected by governments either…

blank media has been taxed for many years so that the music and movie industry can get compensation for copying.

it isn’t fair to those simply backing up files but it allows leeway in the copyright laws so that you can make personal copies in case of damaged originals.

are the artists getting it? who knows and who cares.

i know this doesn’t apply to the US, but is it just the EU or other countries also?

There are other countries with a blank media levy, such as e.g. Canada.