Blank DVD not recognized!

vbimport

I am a newbie to this website! I am hoping that someone can redirect my question to the right area and help me solve my problem. I have been using HP DVD+R blank DVD’s for a while and having no trouble burning onto them. All of a sudden my burner is not recognizing them and I can’t figure out why. When I put the blank disk in my drive goes from saying DVD -RW DRive to CD Drive. When I take the disk back out it goes back to saying DVD -RW Drive. It say’s that the disk has no space taken up(0GB used, 0GB free) My burner is recognizing my HP blank CD’s and it is also playing movie’s I have burnt using the HP DVD’s that I am having problems with. Very frustrated and at a loss. Help please. Thanks.

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

This is an already known estetic issue of windows, nothing to be worried about :slight_smile:

To be sure that the drive is not more able to recognize a disc, you should use a more reliable method. I suggest to use cd-dvd speed or ImgBurn. Simply run one of these the softwares and then insert a disc in the drive. In cd-speed go to the “Disco Info” tab, and in ImgBurn go to the “Device” tab. If you can see disc information, then the drive is working good :slight_smile:

Thanks for your reply Geno888! I performed the test that you suggested with imgburn. My disk is not being recognized. I can’t understand why the same DVD disk with a movie on it is showing up, but not he blank one. I have always been able to burn to these disks and now all of a sudden it’s not working. Here are the results: What’s my next move? Thanks.

_NEC DVD±RW ND-6650A 103D (ATA)
Current Profile: DVD+R

Disc Information:
Erasable: No
Free Sectors: 2,295,104
Free Space: 4,700,372,992 bytes
Free Time: 510:03:29 (MM:SS:FF)
Supported Write Speeds: 2.4x, 4x, 6x, 8x

Physical Format Information (ADIP):
Disc ID: CMC MAG-M01-00
Book Type: DVD+R
Part Version: 1
Disc Size: 120mm
Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
Number of Layers: 1