BitSpirit client? Anyone try this?

vbimport

I have ADSL and have tried Azureus a lot, but it seems to hog up resources and saturate the bandwidth so I don’t use it too much. I have been using Shareaza which in its default config is better, and doesn’t slow down other machines on the home network that much.

But someone told me about this BitSpirit client. At first it seemed to totally saturate my DSL setup so that no other machine could effectively browse the net while that one machine was download.

BUT, there is a setting under PREFERENCE, NETWORK OPTIONS that I was told about and it totally helped. If you have ADSL, just go into that tab and make sure ANTI-FREEZE is checked. That seemed to clear up everything.

Anyway, I’m new to this BitSpirit client, but wanted to kinda share and ask if others have heard of it.

I was getting like 100+ kbps downloads on my 1.5/384k setup, as high as 135 even. Much zippier than Azureus in terms of progam load and exit times, and it starts up on downloads lickety split.

Worth a look, I guess. :slight_smile:

http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/BitSpirit/1064929835/1

Latest version seems to be 3.1.0.077

Enjoy.

Hey BeardedKirklander,

I am also using the adsl 1.5/384k, so if it can really download at that rate i will give it a shot :iagree: . One thing i wanta ask is that is it safe…sorry, i am new to all this downloading :o

anyone with cable try this program yet as it is new so i dont think that anyone with nice high speed has tryed it.
ADSL 1.5 is nice but cable is 2MB to 3MB connection so if anyone with cable trys this program plz post up your speeds.

I’ve had good luck with it. I don’t know of any safety issues.

On cable, you may not want to check the ANTI-FREEZE option. Not sure if it will help or hurt cable.

I still like Shareaza a lot. It works great. But this is a very nice alternative.