Bitsetting and firmware updates on LiteOn 851s

vbimport

Howdy Everyone,

I’m new to DVD writing and thought I’d take care of a bunch of stuff all at once.
I just bought a LiteOn LDW-851s (it was acutally a Pacific Digital 8x ± RW for just $69 no rebates needed). I have been very happy with it and evidently it is a pretty popular drive. A friend suggested updating the firmware and I have seen many posted suggesting this as well. Most have said to download the new version and edit as necessary and some suggest a firmware made by the “codeguys” and just install it as is. but I can’t seem to find the actual file. Where is the actual file? How do I install it?

Also I have an XBOX with a Samsung drive. I have burned a few -R discs with no problems. However I just purchased a 25pk of +R and noticed several posts about “bitsetting” and “booktyping” to be able to use them on the XBOX. I am using Nero Ultra 6.3.1.20. When I launch, it asks what type of DVD to burn, Options are:
DVD-ROM (ISO)
DVD-ROM (boot)
DVD-ROM (UDF)
DVD-ROM (UDF/ISO)
and i’m not sure which one to use. I have been using DVD-ROM(ISO) for the -R media, but +R burned like this are not read. What do I need to do to make the +R acceptable?

I know there are simple answers to both of these questions, and I have searched but there is too much information available about both with no definite how to. So, any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

The codeguys’ firmware is hosted at http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html